This is most likely related to this change.
Starting with the latest update, “Continue Work” copies the tags from the selected existing time entry, just like “Duplicate” does. It no longer adds the task’s current default tags on top.
The task’s default tags are still added when starting a new timer for a task normally.
So if you want the default tags to be added, please start a new timer for the task instead of using “Continue Work”. If you mean a different workflow, please describe the exact button/menu item you are using.